top of page
Writer's pictureDen Warren

Interview with MAGO




Mago is NOT from Slovakia. Mago is NOT from Slavonia. Mago is from Ljubljana, Slovenia.


Flag of Slovenia


It is interesting to see that cool music comes from so many diverse places. And I find that Mago's music is consistently cool. So I thought it would be interesting to learn more about what is behind Mago's magic.


Den: Welcome. Does the name of your brand have a specific meaning to it?

Mago: Well, I have been called Mago my whole life actually, cause of my surname; Magajna. Through life I later found out that it means a magician in Spanish. You also just informed me it also means “grandchild” in Japanese! Not a day goes by that we don’t learn something new!


Den: I should have known that magic was part of your music making secret. What was it like when you started producing music and what drew you to do it?

Mago: I've been DJ-ing around the 2k era and naturally I was also drawn to music production as well, but with no real results at the time.

Den: Who are your favorite artists; electronic or any other type?

Mago: Depeche mode, Giorgio Moroder, New order, The Cure, Bob Sinclair, KneeDeep to name a few :)

Den: What do you think sets your music apart, or makes it different from others?

Mago: I like to think I have a certain own style when approaching music production. I start every song with just a simple beat and see where it leads me! That also mean my songs have a certain structure to them as well. For me a song has to have a start, middle and a finish to be listened to in a joyful matter. This might be a little critique for the today music from my side where everything is given to you heads on. I don’t actually play any instrument so all of my stuff is made by ear! Its funny really as I don’t know the name of the notes im pressing all I know is whether I like or dislike what I hear.

Den: So what you are saying is that a lot of your music is virtual?

Mago: Almost everything . . . I mean I do own a midi keyboard for playing around with chords and button pressing and turning but other than that all of it is on my pc.


Den: What are you working on right now?

Mago: Currently working on one tune that might be more on a chilled side but full on emotion. I hope.

Den: What is the biggest challenge you face right now in music production?

Mago: Time management was and still is my biggest enemy...having three kids, wife and a steady job beside production really consumes almost all of it!

Den: Personally, I appreciate what you do. But now I wonder how "chill" your music will turn out with your busy life. Have you ever collaborated with other artists?  How did it go?

Mago: As far as collaborating goes I am a very bad collab partner (lacking free time) so I try to stay away from it for now. Im open for remixes if anyone would want to make and I already have two of those by two very cool unique artists!

Den: How do you really measure success in your music production?

Mago: I mostly do this for me! Creating music has been like a therapy for me for the overly fast world nowdays! I could never imagine it going this far and touching this many people!


Den: How did you get most of your fans?

Mago: Most fans came through repostexchange.com

Now these guys are on another level when it comes to music exposure and I couldn’t recommend it enough for emerging or any kind of music artist for that matter.


Den: I would agree with what you said. I am on there as well and I look forward to when I see your tracks appear there. I would add that they do have a free membership option where everything is free.

What is the most remarkable thing that happened, related to your music?


Mago: One of my songs got featured in emerging artist hour on Dash radio! Also each and every play from anybody is a remarkable thing for me.


Den: That is a big deal, for sure. What are some of your other interests?

I have been an avid gamer my whole life and being born in the 80s really gave me a chance to see gaming from the very start.


Den: Where can fans follow you?

Mago: I am mostly active on SoundCloud but I'm also present on other streaming services...


Den: Thank you for taking the time to be my guest and best wishes in the future.


48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page